1 Bible 2Romans 1:16, “I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes”
__________

This is another exalted hymn arranged by Daniel W. Whittle (1840-1901). At the age of twenty-one he joined the 72nd Illinois Infantry, enlisting in Company B as a Second Lieutenant. Later he rose to the rank of Major on General Howard’s staff. He was with General Sherman on his march to the sea and was later wounded at the battle of Vicksburg. Upon his recovery and return home, he met the noted evangelist, D.L. Moody. His relationship with Moody changed the course of his life. After a rather brief time in business with the Elgin Watch Company, as their treasurer, he was persuaded by Moody to enter full-time evangelistic work. Soon he became known as one of the leading evangelists of his day.

In speaking of his hymns he once said, “I hope that I will never write a hymn that does not contain a message — there are too many hymns that are just a meaningless jingle of words; to do good a hymn must be founded on God’s word and carry the message of God’s love.” He also felt that the dignity of a gospel hymn deserved the best he could give, not only in material but in construction. He greatly admired the old church hymns and considered them a standard for all hymn writers. He composed about two hundred hymns some of which were: Christ Liveth in Me, Have You Any Room for Jesus, Moment by Moment, There Shall Be Showers of blessing and “I Know Whom I Have Believed”, the one I have selected for this devotional. I sincerely trust this old hymn will prick the strings of your heart and soul who are outside the love of God!

I know not why God’s wondrous grace
To me He hath made known,
Nor why, unworthy, Christ in love
Redeemed me for His own.

Refrain

But I know Whom I have believed,
And am persuaded that He is able
To keep that which I’ve committed
Unto Him against that day.

I know not how this saving faith
To me He did impart,
Nor how believing in His Word
Wrought peace within my heart.

Refrain

I know not how the Spirit moves,
Convincing us of sin,
Revealing Jesus through the Word,
Creating faith in Him.

Refrain

I know not what of good or ill
May be reserved for me,
Of weary ways or golden days,
Before His face I see.

Refrain

I know not when my Lord may come,
At night or noonday fair,
Nor if I walk the vale with Him,
Or meet Him in the air.

But I know Whom I have believed,
And am persuaded that He is able
To keep that which I’ve committed
Unto Him against that day.
__________

Further reflection:

The Lord Jesus ended His work and suffering on the cross of Calvary with the words “It is finished!” (John 19:30). In the original language in which John recorded these words, only one word is spoken by the Lord Jesus “tetelestai”. Not three words but only one – finished. It was the cry of consummation, the cry of victory and of completion. In this one word, the Savior declared a fact, a truth so wonderful that Satan has been busy every since trying to hide from the minds of men, women and children the meaning of Jesus’ last triumphant cry. Thus, as a result there are millions of earnest, sincere, seeking souls who long for peace and rest but have not yet realized that salvation is a completed work. There is nothing more to be done. Yet, these dear souls work and sacrifice, doing things they feel will merit for them the favor of God and entrance into His coming kingdom. Please stand with me once more before that cross. In that deep darkness when God hid His face, hear the Savior’s powerful cry, “It is finished!” At that very moment the earth shook, the rocks were split, and the graves were opened (Matthew 27:51-52). My friend, His work of salvation was complete. He braved the shadow of eternal death to bring us the sunshine of eternal life. If you’re a believer in Christ, aren’t you glad you can say with assurance, “Praise God, it is finished for me!” If you don’t know Christ as Savior, you are among those earnest, sincere, seeking souls who long for peace and rest but haven’t yet realized that Christ’s death is the only way.

Some day we will all stand before God, so it’s imperative that we prepare to meet him now. The only preparation needed is to accept Jesus Christ as your Savior from sin. You see, He died to take the punishment we deserve (2 Corinthians 5:21; 1 Peter 3:18). When we admit that we are sinners (Romans 3:23) and ask Him to forgive and save us (Acts 16:31; Romans 10:13), we are brought into a right relationship with God (2 Corinthians 5:18-19). The very last book of the Bible, Revelation, closes with an urgent appeal. The coming of the Lord for His own will occur “quickly” (Revelation 22:7, 12, 20). If will be so sudden that it will give no opportunity for last-minute repentance. Therefore, the time for salvation is now. Are you prepared for His coming?
__________

Salvation cannot be earned; it must be accepted.

