1 Bible 2Luke 9:61, “Lord, I will follow You, but let me first go and bid them farewell who are at my house?”

John 14:21, “He who has My commandments and keeps them, it is he who loves Me”
__________

No matter where Jesus went in the region around the Sea of Galilee during His public ministry, He caused quite a stir. But most importantly, the people who had observed Him firsthand were moved and motivated to action. If you read carefully through the New Testament you would find that Jesus often told and spoke in parables to illustrate how people received and responded to His teaching. In Mark 1:18 we see obedience from the fishermen who followed Jesus. In Mark 1:27 we see the amazement of people who marveled of His power over demons.

Then in Mark 1:31 we see service from Peter’s mother-in-law who served the Lord. In Mark 1:45 we see those who saw Jesus in action proclaiming to others what He had done. In Matthew 13:1-9, His disciples asked, “Why do You speak to them in parables?” In reply Jesus quoted the prophet Isaiah, “For the hearts of this people have gown dull. Their ears are hard to hearing, and their eyes they have closed, lest they should understand with their hearts and turn, so that I should heal them” (Matthew 13:15; Isaiah 6:10).

Most parents are very familiar with the words from their children, “I’ll do it in a minute, but first …” As God’s children; He often receives a similar response from us. This important truth in the life of Janice is illustrated as follows: I’ll never forget my inner battle one morning as I was on my knees scrubbing the kitchen floor. It began with a strong impression from the Lord that I should visit a young mother named Carol. So, I decided to do it later that day. “But first I must finish this floor,” I said to myself. Then the inner prompting began to feel more urgent. “As soon as I finish the floor, I’ll go straight over to Carol’s,” I promised the Lord. But deep inside, I knew He meant now, before the floor was finished! A real battle of the will took place. I admitted that countless opportunities had been lost because of things I wanted to do first. Finally I said, “Okay, Lord, I’ll go now!” When Carol opened her door, she said tearfully, “How did you know I needed you right now” I didn’t, but God did, and my surrender to Him played a part in Carol’s eventual surrender to Christ as her Savior. In the Gospel of Luke, Jesus taught that some things can wait, which includes half-scrubbed floors and a host of other things; however, a ripe harvest can’t wait!
__________

Further thoughts:

Are you being obedient to His call for your life? God chooses to use you because you are the one most suited to minister to the people in your arena of influence. It is not by chance you have the relatives, friends, job, and church family that you do. God led you wherever you are for a reason. Pray today that the Lord will begin showing you the destiny He has for you. Ask Him to help you be obedient to His will for your life. Are you willing to serve Him whatever the cost? It is this unswerving obedience and faithful service to the Lord that God richly blesses. Please note these Biblical examples:

(1) Noah’s obedience saved humanity from destruction.
(2) Abraham’s faith built a great nation of whom we are all descendents.

(3) Joseph’s diligence saved his family from starvation and preserved the line from which Jesus would be a descendent, and

(4) Jesus’ obedience resulted in salvation for the entire human race.

As you can see, it only takes one obedient individual to bring about God’s miraculous power for this generation. My friend, the lesson for us today is very clear. When Jesus speaks, we must take His Word to heart. He spoke about our heart in Matthew 13. My brethren, it’s important that our heart hasn’t grown cold and dull to the voice of His Spirit. How dangerously easy it is to neglect our heart. If we become callous we find no joy in living or serving; and life at best seems hollow. However, when our heart is tender toward God our understanding and gratefulness flow through us to others because we were obedient to His Word. In fact, all Scripture must be taken seriously, because to disregard God’s Word shows a heart of unbelief and will eventually leave our lives in ruins. However, to heed its life giving instructions bring reward and blessing. The questions that you must ask yourself:

(1) How is your heart and do you listen to the Spirit’s call?
(2) Can He count on your obedience?
__________

You can measure your love for God by your obedience to His Word.

