Tags

, , ,

Joshua 1:9, “Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest”

Hebrews 13:5, “I will never leave you nor forsake you”
__________

Just as England had its Charlotte Elliott and Frances Havergal, and America had its Fanny Crosby, so Sweden had its Lina Sandell Berg. She was regarded as the Fanny Crosby of Sweden and among her best known hymns is “Children of the Heavenly Father” and the hymn I have chosen for today’s devotional “Day by Day.” She was born on October 3, 1832 at Froderyd, Sweden, and was a daughter of the pastor of the parish church of that community. Being a frail youngster, she usually preferred to spend her time in her father’s study rather than to join her comrades in play. When she was twenty-six years of age, she accompanied her father on a journey to Gothenburg, but tragedy occurred before the destination was reached. The ship gave a sudden lurch and Lina’s father fell overboard and drowned before the eyes of his devoted daughter. From this experience came forth the precious words to this great hymn:

Day by day, and with each passing moment,
Strength I find to meet my trials here;
Trusting in my Father’s wise bestowment,
I’ve no cause for worry or for fear.
He, whose heart is kind beyond all measure,
Gives unto each day what He deems best,
Lovingly its part of pain and pleasure,
Mingling toil with peace and rest.

Every day the Lord Himself is near me,
With a special mercy for each hour;
All my cares He fain would bear and cheer me,
He whose name is Counselor and Pow’r.
The protection of His child and treasure
Is a charge that on Himself He laid;
“As thy days, thy strength shall be in measure,”
This the pledge to me He made.

Help me then, in every tribulation,
So to trust Thy promises, O Lord,
That I lose not faith’s sweet consolation,
Offered me within Thy holy Word.
Help me, Lord, when toil and trouble meeting,
E’er to take, as from a father’s hand,
One by one, the days, the moments fleeting,
Till with Christ the Lord I stand.
__________

Closing thoughts:

The writer to the Hebrews quotes God as saying to His people, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” To claim that God is with us every moment of every day, as close as our skin, in every turn of life, tearstained or drenched in smiles, some would say that borders on insanity. However, throughout history men and women have staked their lives on that very truth. The Scriptures tell us that Abraham, Moses, Rahab, Joshua, David, and Esther were just a few. The promise was true for them, but how can we know it’s true for us today? Well it is true for us because of Jesus Christ. By His coming, He says, “I want to be with you; I gave Myself to you; I gave Myself for you. Do you really think that I would ever forsake you?” So, how do you respond to this astonishing promise? You probably would say it’s too good to be true or it sounds so unbelievable. Moreover my brethren, I would urge you not to ignore it, because in your hurts, fears, struggles, and temptations, there is no more wonderful promise than this, “I will never leave you nor forsake you” and I will be with you “Day by Day.” If you want encouragement read and meditate on the words of this precious hymn and then praise God for His Love, Mercy and Grace which He gives freely to those who have trusted in His Son Jesus Christ. Praise the Lord for He is with us “Day by Day!”
__________

Remember that no matter where you go, God goes with you if you are His child.

