Tags

, , ,

1 Bible 2John 10:27, 28, “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand”
__________

From time to time and in addition to my devotionals, I will be sharing with you some of my favorite old hymns that aren’t sung very much in churches today. If you enjoy music as I do, it would be my desire that these favorite hymns I select will be a blessing and encouragement to your heart and soul. I would like to share with you today a hymn entitled “A Child of the King.” It applies to anyone who has been redeemed by the blood of Jesus Christ. If you have accepted Him as Savior of your life, you are “A Child of the King”. The hymn was written by Hattie E. Buell. Hattie attended the Methodist Episcopal Church at Thousand Island Park, New York. On or about 1876, while walking home one day she was meditating on the joy of being a child of the King of kings.

So, upon reaching her home, she sat down and wrote the words of this gospel song, not really intending them as a hymn. She sent the words she had written down as a poem to the Northern Christian Advocate magazine, and was printed in February 1877. Sometime later, John B. Sumner, a Methodist Episcopal minister, saw the poem in the magazine and composed the music in the autumn of 1878 with Buell’s knowledge. A few months later she heard the song sung by a soloist in the Manluis Methodist Church! Buell’s original words were “I’m the child of a King,” but the first publishers took the liberty of interchanging the two words to make it read “I’m a child of the King.” The tune is sometimes called Binghampton after the town where the composer was then living. I trust as you meditate on the words of this great hymn and it will be a blessing to your heart and soul. Enjoy!
__________

– A Child of the King –

My Father is rich in houses and lands,
He holdeth the wealth of the world in His hands!
Of rubies and diamonds, of silver and gold,
His coffers are full, He has riches untold.

Refrain
I’m a child of the King,
A child of the King:
With Jesus my Savior,
I’m a child of the King.

My Father’s own Son, the Savior of men,
Once wandered on earth as the poorest of them;
But now He is pleading our pardon on high,
That we may be His when He comes by and by.

Refrain
I’m a child of the King,
A child of the King:
With Jesus my Savior,
I’m a child of the King.

I once was an outcast stranger on earth,
A sinner by choice, an alien by birth,
But I’ve been adopted, my name’s written down,
An heir to a mansion, a robe and a crown.

Refrain
I’m a child of the King,
A child of the King:
With Jesus my Savior,
I’m a child of the King.

A tent or a cottage, why should I care?
They’re building a palace for me over there;
Though exiled from home, yet still may I sing:
All glory to God, I’m a child of the King.

Refrain
I’m a child of the King,
A child of the King:
With Jesus my Savior,
I’m a child of the King.
__________

Further thoughts:

If you’re not “A Child of the King” it would be my sincere desire that you would personally believe and receive God’s gift of salvation through His Son, Jesus Christ. My friend, no one is saved by trying to be good. We are saved only by trusting in Jesus Christ. The Bible says, “For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast” (Ephesians 2:8-9). The actual words you say to God to receive this gift may vary. What is important is that you believe Him enough to be able to say, “God, I know I have sinned against You. I believe that Jesus is Your Son, that He died for my sins, and that He rose from the dead to prove it. Now I accept Your offer of eternal life, I accept Jesus as Your gift for my salvation.” If this is the honest expression of your heart, you have entered into a personal relationship with God and you are now “A Child of the King.“
__________

Christ opens the door of heaven to those who open their heart to Him.

