Tags

, , , ,

1 Bible 2Hebrews 9:26, “For then must he often have suffered since the foundation of the world: but now once in the end of the world hath he appeared to put away sin by the sacrifice of himself”
__________

A barrier of sin stands between man and God and unless that obstacle is overcome and removed to God’s satisfaction, sinners cannot be accepted by the One in whose presence the angels cry, “Holy, holy, holy!” (Isaiah 6:3). How can we approach this One with confidence? What could guarantee our pardon and remove our guilt? The Israelites gathered once a year for a special celebration called the Day of Atonement. Let’s use our imagination and take a quick look on that solemn day. The high priest in his white linen garments has just slain a goat. As he enters into the temple’s holiest place he sprinkles the blood before the mercy seat. Outside the temple stand hundreds of people, some weeping because of their sins. You sense an air of reverence and expectancy. Suddenly, the high priest appears. He’s alive! His very presence says that God has accepted the sacrifice. The people rejoice as the priest extends his hands with a benediction. Ask a smiling Hebrew, “What’s the meaning of this?” and he might reply, “Oh, our sins have been covered by sacrifice and the nation is at peace with God!’” Today, our sins are removed because Jesus Christ, with His own blood, has obtained eternal redemption for us. He has entered the Most Holy Place once and for all. So, let’s praise Him for His great sacrifice.
__________

Further thoughts:

Hebrews 9:22 tell us that “without shedding of blood there is no remission”. The slaughtering of sheep and goats on the altar symbolized the results of sin. An unmerciful death for innocent animals pointed forward to a coming substitute, the sinless “Lamb of God.” The Scriptures tell us that John the Baptist described Jesus as “the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world.” (John 1:29). Peter said that the full weight of our sins fell upon Jesus (1 Peter 2:24), and the apostle Paul explained, “He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him” (2 Corinthians 5:21). My friend, we all have fallen in sin, but on the cross Jesus took the punishment for our sin upon Himself. He now offers eternal life to all who personally put their faith in Him (John 3:1-16). Thus, the only way to approach God is on His terms. We must receive the forgiveness He offers to us through His Son, Jesus Christ. My question to you would be:

(1) Have you accepted Jesus, the Lamb of God, as your Savior from sin?

(2) If not, I would urge you to accept Him this very hour. Maybe He has been speaking to you, but you’ve been ignoring Him. The actual words you say to God to receive this gift may vary. What is important is that you believe Him enough to be able to say, “God, I know I have sinned against You. I believe that Jesus is Your Son, that He died for my sins, and that He rose from the dead to prove it. Now I accept Your offer of eternal life. I accept Jesus as Your gift for my salvation. If this is the honest expression of your heart, you have entered into a personal relationship with God!
__________

I know I’m a sinner and Christ is my need;
His death is my ransom, no merit I plead.
His work is sufficient, on Him I believe;
I have life eternal when Him I receive … Anon
__________

We are only saved by what Christ did, not by what we do.

