Tags

, , ,

1 John 3:1, “Behold what manner of love the Father has bestowed on us, that we should be called children of God”

Revelation 3:20, “If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him”
____________

When growing up as a young child and especially in the summertime did you ever pick off the petals of a daisy? I can recall very vividly when my eyes first met those of a pretty brown-eyed girl seated a couple of rows away from me in grade school. It’s hard to put into words but something happened. You could say it was my first case of puppy love or so I thought. Those were the days when you would take a daisy and pluck off its petals one by one, all the while with a certain person in mind, “She loves me, she loves me not.” And, oh, how it hurt when the daisy’s last petal was “she loves me not!” Romans Chapter 8 speaks of God’s love for us and is stated in verses 38 & 39, “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, [neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

The story has been told of a loving father who came to the hospital day after day and would sit beside the bed of his comatose 6-year-old daughter, talking to her about the wonderful world outside her window. Sometimes he would tell her a story, however, in her unconscious state; the only sound she ever made was her labored breathing. One day her nurse, touched by the father’s unrewarded faithfulness, ventured to say, “It must be hard giving so much love when she’s like this.” He quickly responded, “I’m going to keep on coming and bringing flowers and telling her stories even if she’s unaware of it because I love her whether or not she loves me back.” What a tender and poignant picture of God’s love for us! Patiently and untiringly, He is in love with us. We may be unaware of His presence, as though we are spiritually comatose. But, we don’t have to be that way! What our loving Lord said to the church of Laodicea He says to each of us: “I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me” (Revelation 3:20).
____________

Closing thoughts:

The Scriptures tell us the Lord knows those who are His and that the heavenly Father intimately understands each of His children. He knows their every thought and emotion, and is acquainted with all [their] ways (Psalm 139:3). From morning until night, He gives personal attention to all their circumstances. Overwhelmed by this glorious reality, the psalmist exclaimed in amazement, “Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain it.” My friend, God’s love has no limit and His grace and mercy has no measure. His power has no boundary known unto men, for out of His infinite riches in Christ Jesus He giveth and giveth and giveth again. Praise God that His Eternal Word and His love are perfect and unchanging. Moreover, if there are still any doubts, think of what He did to save us! The Bible says, “God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:8). We can be most confident of God’s unfailing love because He has proven it beyond all questions. Today, if you don’t know Christ as Savior, He is reaching out to you. He is standing at the door of your heart and knocking! I would urge you to respond now to that love that won’t quit loving. Yes, it’s a sure thing!
__________

God loves all of us as if there were but one of us to love

