Tags

, ,

1 Bible 2Psalm 34:4, “I sought the LORD, and He heard me”

Psalm 143:8, “Cause me to hear thy loving kindness in the morning; for in thee do I trust: cause me to know the way wherein I should walk; for I lift up my soul unto thee”
__________

Jan Welsh, secretary to Scottish essayist Thomas Carlyle (1795-1881), married him and devoted her life to him and his work. He loved her deeply but was so busy with his writing and speaking that he often neglected her. Some time into their marriage, she became ill and suddenly died. In a new book by John Ortberg, I read that after the funeral Thomas went alone to Jane’s room and looked at her diary. He found these words that she had written about him, “Yesterday he spent an hour with me and it was like heaven. I love him so.” On another day, she wrote this, “I have listened all day to hear his steps in the hall, but now it is late. I guess he will not come today.” He wept brokenly, realizing his neglect of her and her desire just to talk with him.

As I read that, I couldn’t help but think; God loves me dearly and waits for me to fellowship with Him. How many days do I forget Him? Our Lord is waiting and welcomes our worship, our prayer and our praise to Him. In Psalm 143:8 we see this as a beautiful and meaningful prayer with which to start each day, and one I’m sure God must delight to answer. It’s a very simple prayer, with only two requests and two declarations, yet it can reach the very heart of God, our Creator. Because we trust absolutely in His Word, we hear Him speak through it, as we read it at the beginning of each day. And as we hear Him speak, we rejoice again in His loving kindness, especially in saving our souls and guiding our ways. Then we are once again encouraged to lift up our very souls to Him (not just voices) and ask for clear guidance in the way in which we should walk that day. We should pray as the psalmist when he said, “Teach me to do thy will; for thou art my God: thy spirit is good; lead me into the land of uprightness” (Psalm 143:10).
__________

Further reflection:

When we seek our Heavenly Father each morning in prayer, He will cause us to know the way wherein we should walk, if we sincerely desire to know and follow His will, and be led in the paths of righteousness by His Spirit. Of course, He will never lead us in any path contrary to His revealed Word. Psalm 119:105 says, “Thy Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path”. And when we have given Him:

(1) All priority in our lives,
(2) When we love, study and obey His Word, and
(3) When we sincerely call on Him for daily guidance in His will, He will surely answer.

“In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths” (Proverbs 3:6). “This is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us: And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him” (1 John 5:14-15). Has God heard from you today? He invites you to make your requests known to Him. What a tragedy that so many of His children go through the day without uttering a single prayer to the One who takes pleasure in hearing their voices! In Jeremiah 33:3, the Lord says, “Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.” Proverbs 15:8 says, “The prayer of the upright is His delight.” So, my brethren pray, for God listens and delights in the prayers of His precious children!

There never is a night or day
When God won’t hear us as we pray;
There is no time, there is no place,
When He’ll withhold His love and grace.
__________

Talk with God because He longs to hear from you.

