Tags

, , ,

1 Bible 2John 14:27, “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you”
__________

Before I accepted Christ as my Savior and Lord, I was searching for many things and was striving to achieve those things in my life in order to fill a void. Each time I would think this will be it; this will be the one thing that will fill my every need. Yet, every time I found what I was looking for and when the newness of the experience wore off, I found myself still searching, striving, and still empty within. I know now that I was searching for was real peace and I felt it was unobtainable, especially during the storms of my life. Maybe your life has been like this also. Are you striving, searching, and always seeming to come up empty and still yearning and aching to fill that void and be at peace. There are two kinds of peace:

(1) One is between “God and man” (Luke 2:13,14), and the other
(2) Between “man and man” (Matthew 10:32-34, John 14:27).

The word peace means “to join,” or “to set at one, again.” The peace between man and man is the “…peace the world gives…” (John 14:27). The peace between God and man is from God himself. Jesus gave us His peace so we can be joined to Him. “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you” (John 14:27). Whenever there is peace between two parties, it causes a joining. Whenever there is strife (enmity) between two parties, it causes a separation. Because peace brings unity, there is a constant battle raging for our soul. The world is battling for us to be joined to its ways, while God is battling for us to be joined to Him, and whomever we chose to join with, we by default become separated from the other.

Rock guitarist Jim Hendrix led a promiscuous life, indulging in drugs and behaving outrageously on and off the stage, searching for real peace. At the end of a concert in 1970, Jim smashed his guitar. According to Robert McGee and Donald Sapaugh in “Search for Peace”, the audience screamed and applauded, but suddenly the frenzied applause stopped. Jim had fallen on his knees and was staying in that position motionless. He broke the stillness by asking, “If you know real peace, I want to visit with you backstage.” But apparently nobody responded to his startling invitation. Several days later, he died from an overdose of drugs. Peace, real peace eluded Jim Hendrix. While writing this, I was mindful of King Solomon who experimented with every resource imaginable. He wrote, “I did not withhold my heart from any pleasure” (Ecclesiastes 2:10). What was the result of his search? He concluded, “All is vanity and grasping for the wind”.
__________

Further thoughts:

Maybe you’re searching for real peace? My friend, God is a peacemaker who always takes the first step. He sent His Son Jesus who came to this world as a baby, and when He grew to manhood He preached peace to a warring world. Then, in the greatest peace initiative this world has ever seen, Christ made peace between God and man by dying for our sins (Colossians 1:20). My friend, only through a trustful commitment and personal relationship with Jesus Christ can you experience peace with God (Romans 5:1), and a peace that will fill the emptiness of your heart that you are longing and searching for. Today, open your heart in faith to the Prince of Peace, inviting Him to come into your life and take control of it. Then, underneath all of life’s strife, you can know the peace of God, the very tranquility of heaven in the depths of your soul (Philippians 4:6-7). The question you must ask yourself is, “Will you be at peace with God or the world?”

Oh, the peace I find in Jesus,
Peace no power on earth can shake,
Peace that makes the Lord so precious,
Peace that none from me can take … Beck
__________

When we keep our mind on God, God keeps our minds at peace.

