Tags

, , , , ,

1 Bible 2Isaiah 42:16, “And I will bring the blind by a way that they knew not; I will lead them in paths that they have not known: I will make darkness light before them, and crooked things straight. These things will I do unto them, and not forsake them”
__________

I would like to share with you another great hymn that isn’t sung very often in our churches today and one that I truly enjoy singing. The hymn was written by Fanny J. Crosby, probably the most prolific hymnist in our history. Though blinded by an incompetent doctor at six weeks of age, she wrote over 8,000 hymns. This is what she said about her blindness, “It seemed intended by the blessed providence of God that I should be blind all my life, and I thank him for the dispensation. If perfect earthly sight were offered me tomorrow I would not accept it. I might not have sung hymns to the praise of God if I had been distracted by the beautiful and interesting things about me. The last verse of this hymn recalls her often quoted statement, “If I had a choice, I would still choose to remain blind…for when I die, the first face I will ever see will be the face of my blessed Savior”.
__________

When we think about all our sinfulness and rebellion, God’s “indescribable gift” (2 Corinthians 9:15) of forgiveness through Jesus Christ seems too much for us poor sinners to receive. However, God is so rich in mercy that it isn’t too much for Him to give. Someone said, “The kindest thing that God ever did was to become a man.” Oh, what magnificent glory Christ left and what utter humiliation He suffered so that He could offer us the riches of salvation! We will never be able to understand it completely. It’s hard to fathom the truth that when we receive His gift we claim an eternal inheritance as adopted children of God. So, my brethren as you think upon these things and the words to this beautiful old hymn, I trust your heart and soul will be blessed by it, and if you’re a child of the King, when you die, the first face you will see will be the face of your blessed Savior, Jesus Christ. Enjoy!

Take the world, but give me Jesus,
All its joys are but a name;
But His love abideth ever,
Through eternal years the same.

Refrain

Oh, the height and depth of mercy!
Oh, the length and breadth of love!
Oh, the fullness of redemption,
Pledge of endless life above!

Take the world, but give me Jesus,
Sweetest comfort of my soul;
With my Savior watching o’er me,
I can sing though billows roll.

Refrain

Take the world, but give me Jesus,
Let me view His constant smile;
Then throughout my pilgrim journey
Light will cheer me all the while.

Refrain

Take the world, but give me Jesus.
In His cross my trust shall be,
Till, with clearer, brighter vision,
Face to face my Lord I see.

Refrain
__________

Further reflection:

Who is this Jesus that Fanny tells us about in her hymns? Observing the ways He is portrayed these days, it’s almost impossible to recognize Him as the Jesus of the Bible. Some groups add to what the Bible says about Him, while others diminish Him to simple humanity, claiming that He was merely a wise teacher or a master moralist. Some would like to make Him disappear altogether. Stand at the foot of the cross, and your only possible conclusion is that Jesus Christ is divine. Listen to Him forgive those who sought to destroy Him, and you realize that only God can forgive with such grace. Overhear Him speak hope to the dying criminal at His side, “Today you will be with Me in Paradise” (Luke 23:43). Catch His words above the wails of the mourners as He does what no human can – He commits His spirit to God the Father, in effect releasing Himself to death (Luke 23:46; John 10:17-18).

This was no mortal hanging below a sign with the mocking words that underestimated His identity (Luke 23:38). This was God Incarnate, doing the work He alone could only do – by becoming Immanuel, God with us (Matthew 1:23). Jesus was not just a man who was blessed with wisdom, or that He was merely a wise teacher or master moralist. Never ever think of Him as anyone less than God the Son, our Savior and Redeemer. His words and work on the cross prove His divinity, so don’t be deceived by fuzzy, watered down, or false descriptions of Jesus that you read, see, or hear about. My brethren, stick to the Bible, and when people try to minimize His identity, tell them in no uncertain terms who the real Jesus is!

Eternal with the Father, One,
Is Jesus Christ, His own dear Son;
In Him God’s fullness we can see,
For Jesus Christ is deity. – DJD
__________

The name of Jesus is profanity to the sinner but heaven’s password to the saint.

