Tags

, , , ,

1 Bible 2Psalm 51:7, “Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow”
__________

F. B. Meyer the famous English preacher was making a pastoral call on a poor woman who made her living by taking in washings. When he arrived, she was hanging some clothes on a line and commended her on how clean and white they looked hanging there. Thanking him for the compliment, she invited him in for some tea. She always thoroughly enjoyed the warm Christian fellowship that accompanied his visits. Time slipped by so rapidly as they talked about the Lord Jesus Christ. However, in the meantime, the sky outside had clouded over and a light coating of snow had covered the ground. As Meyer opened the door to leave, he said without thinking, “My, your washing doesn’t look quite as clean as it did!” “No,” replied the woman, “but the washing is as clean as it can be. Who can compete against God’s white?” Scientists tell us that a tiny speck of dust lies at the core of each snowflake. Therefore, even a fresh snowflake isn’t entirely white. In the book of Psalms David said that God given purity is “whiter than snow.” My friend, when God redeems a sinner through the atoning blood of His Son, Jesus Christ, not one stain of sin remains. Thus, His forgiveness is thorough and complete.
__________

Closing thoughts:

While writing this I was mindful of a hymn our church sings entitled “Power in the Blood”. The hymn has a great message regarding how a person can remove the stain of sin from their life. My friend, do you realize that only the death of Jesus Christ can save you? Only as His body was pierced and His blood allowed to flow out could He atone for your sin. Hebrews 9:22 tells us that, “without the shedding of blood, there is no salvation”. The Bible tells us that we are all sinners (Romans 3:23). Our sin keeps us from a right relationship with God, and we are powerless to do anything about it (Ephesians 2:8-9). Salvation is a gift that comes to us only through Christ.

(1) Has your soul been made whiter than snow?
(2) Have you been to Jesus for cleansing?
(3) Are you washed in the blood of the Lamb?

If you have praise the Lord! However, if you haven’t then I would urge you this very hour to accept God’s gift of salvation through His Son, Jesus Christ. If you believe the message you have just read is true, you can pray this simple prayer by faith:

Dear God, I confess to You the hardness of my heart, the meanness of my thoughts, the coldness of my spirit, and the sinfulness of my life. I’m so sorry. I know it was for me – and because of me – that Jesus died. Please forgive me of all my sins – big, medium and small, past, present and future. Thank You for Jesus, Who washes my filthy garments of sin and makes them white as snow. I know now that I am clean and forgiven and dressed for eternity in heaven with You. Thank You for just giving me Jesus! Amen.
__________

Christ was lifted up on the cross that we might be lifted out of our sin!

