Tags

, ,

Psalm 107:1, “Oh, give thanks to the LORD, for He is good! For His mercy endures forever”
__________

It is essential that we realize our future is not defined by our years here on earth. We have an indescribable feast being prepared for us in heaven, that is, if you have been saved by accepting God’s free gift of salvation through the blood of Jesus Christ. It is the marriage supper of the Lamb, and oh, what a day of rejoicing that will be! For this reason we can and should make each and every day a day to give thanks to Him for what He has done. Give thanks to the Lord that He has given us new life in Him and has placed the Holy Spirit in our hearts to guide and comfort. Thank you Lord! With that said, I would like to share with you this day another great hymn that we sing in the church I attend.

The lyrics and music to this hymn are from Seth Sykes and Bessie Sykes. These two evangelists were well known in Springburn, the U. K., and even in the United States. Seth was a tram conductor who resigned in 1929 and both of them traveled to mission churches throughout the length and breadth of Britain with a barrel organ, singing, preaching the gospel and retelling stories from the Bible with lantern slides. This song should remind each of us to be thankful to our God and creator who provides and sustains our lives. I sincerely trust this hymn entitled “Thank You, Lord” and the words would be a blessing to your heart and soul.

Some thank the Lord for friends and home
For mercies sure and sweet
But I would praise Him for his grace
In prayer I would repeat

Refrain:

Thank you, Lord, for saving my soul
Thank you, Lord, for making me whole
Thank you, Lord, for giving to me
Thy great salvation so rich and free.

Some thank Him for the flow’rs that grow
Some for the stars that shine
My heart is filled with joy and praise
Because I know He’s mine

Refrain:

I trust in Him from day to day
I prove His saving grace
I’ll sing this song of praise to Him
Until I see His face
__________

Further thoughts:

Occasionally it’s helpful to spend a few quiet moments looking back over our lives to review how indebted we really are to God for His goodness, grace, and mercy. Of course, no two personal histories are the same. But we can all echo the words of David, the poet-king, in Psalm 23:6. He wrote, “Goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life.” If we are trusting Jesus Christ, those few words sum up the whole of our experience in life. God’s goodness imparts what we don’t deserve; His mercy withholds what we do deserve. In times of pain and sorrow, our heavenly Father faithfully meets our needs, comforts our hearts, and gives us strength to bear our burdens. Although we are believers, we still sin and fall short of the holy standard set by His Son, Jesus Christ. Yet, He keeps on pouring His forgiveness into our souls as we confess our sins. We may think of ourselves as decent people, but we must still admit that “we have left undone those things which we ought to have done, and we have done those things which we ought not to have done.” My brethren, may gratitude continually fill our hearts, because God’s goodness and mercy will follow us all the way to glory. We are indebted to Him forever and the words on our lips should say, “Thank you LORD”.
__________

Each new day gives us new reasons to say “Thank you LORD”

