Tags

,

1 Bible 2Isaiah 9:6, “His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace”

Isaiah 53:12, “She poured out His soul unto death, and He was numbered with the transgressors, and He bore the sin of many”
__________

When Jesus rode into Jerusalem on a donkey, “… the multitudes that went before, and that followed, cried, saying, Hosanna to the son of David: Blessed is he that cometh in the name of the Lord; Hosanna in the highest” (Matthew 21:9). However, much later that same week, a mob called for His crucifixion. Few people recognized Him as the one Isaiah described as Wonderful (Isaiah 9:6). My brethren, if there is anyone who deserves that name, it is Jesus Christ. He is wonderful in His deity and in His selfless love that led Him from the shining glories of heaven into the darkness of this sin-cursed world.

He is wonderful in His virgin birth, wonderful in His overcoming, sinless life of service, wonderful in His teachings, wonderful in His vicarious death, wonderful in His astounding resurrection, and wonderful in His ascended glory. Yes, my beloved He is Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father and Prince of Peace as described the prophet Isaiah. I sincerely trust you will enjoy this hymn written by A. B. Simpson, and entitled “I Have Learned the Wondrous Secret”. If you have been saved and redeemed by the blood of the spotless Lamb of God, this hymn should speak to your heart, mind and soul. Enjoy my brethren!

I have learned the wondrous secret Of abiding in the Lord;
I have tasted life’s pure fountain, I am drinking of His word;
I have found the strength and sweetness Of abiding ’neath the blood;
I have lost myself in Jesus, I am sinking into God.

I am crucified with Jesus, and He lives and dwells with me;
I have ceased from all my struggling, ’Tis no longer I, but He.
All my will is yielding to Him, And His Spirit reigns within;
and His precious blood each moment Keeps me cleansed and free from sin.

All my sicknesses I bring Him, And He bears them all away;
All my fears and griefs I tell Him, All my cares from day to day,
All my strength I draw from Jesus, By His breath I live and move;
E’en His very mind He gives me, And His faith, and life, and love.

For my words I take His wisdom, for my works His Spirit’s power;
For my ways His ceaseless presence Guards and guides me every hour.
Of my heart, He is the portion, Of my joy the boundless spring;
Blessed Savior, my Redeemer, Glorious Lord, and coming King.
__________

Further reflection:

Consider the story of the pilot of a military plane who was forced to parachute into a jungle in Southeast Asia. How would he be able to find his way out? A local man saw what had happened and came to the pilot’s rescue, slashing through the tangled underbrush of the thick jungle. The frightened pilot cried out, “Where’s the road? Where’s the way out?” The rescuer shouted back, “No road! I’m the way! Just follow me!” The pilot trusted the man, who led him through the jungle to safety.

My brethren, many people have a difficult time accepting similar words that were spoken by the Lord Jesus Christ. He said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me” (John 14:6). Critics call this teaching intolerant and divisive; however, because the Son of God said it, and God’s Eternal Word records it, it is true no matter how much it is challenged today. Faith in Jesus Christ is the only way to eternal fellowship with God and your ticket to Heaven.

The pathway to God isn’t found by following a certain creed, developing moral character, tithing, or attending church. It’s found by trusting Jesus Christ to forgive our sin and reconcile us to the Father. Thus, when we open our hearts to the crucified and risen Savior, we are on the only pathway that will bring us home to God.

Not all roads lead to God,
As many people claim;
There’s only one true way –
Christ Jesus is His name. – Sper
__________

No one can bypass Jesus and get to heaven.

