Tags

1 Bible 2Psalm 56:3, “Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You”
__________

It was all-out war! The kids in the neighborhood where I lived were battling the kids who lived on the other side of our small town in West Virginia. The weapons would be crab apples, and the stakes would be our neighborhood pride and honor. Then unexpectedly it happened. After an especially bitter crab apple battle, my mom sent me on an errand that would force me to ride my bike down the street where most of the enemy lived. I was terrified as a ten-year old could be. The palms of my hands were sweaty and the skin on my back just crawled. I was so sure I would be discovered and attacked, and to say the least … I was just petrified!

Now let’s take a look at Psalm 56. It described how David felt when he was in a similar but far worse situation than mine (1 Samuel 21:10-15). He was on the run from King Saul and took refuge in enemy territory. He was in terrible danger and he knew it. However, he also knew what to do in time of fear. He said, “Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You”. Then he wrote, “In God I have put my trust; I will not fear”. For those who have placed their faith and trust in a risen Savior, and when feeling insecure and vulnerable to danger, remember that you’re in the Lord’s protective care. Do what David did … believe that God is in control of your situation. He is more powerful than any threat to your well-being, and believe His promises. My brethren, that’s what to do when you’re afraid!
__________

Further thoughts:

During a perilous time in King David’s life, he wrote this, “I sought the LORD, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears … The angel of the LORD encamps all around those who fear Him, and delivers them” (Psalm 34:4, 7). In dark and difficult days, David experienced the security of God’s presence and the light of His love. That’s why he could say, “Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the man who trust in Him!” If you have put your faith in God’s Son, Jesus Christ, you can have confidence that your heavenly Father sees you in your trials and has promised His protection. Thus, in times of distress or when we’re afraid, we can place our trust in the Lord. He wants us to call on Him so that He can encourage us with His presence and give us His peace. As you rest in the Lord and rely on Him today, tomorrow and the months ahead, you will be able to say with the psalmist, “Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You.”

Do not fear the darkness that is gathering all around,
For the Lord is with you, and in Him true peace is found;
When you’re facing trouble, or when tragedy sees near,
Jesus is the only one to drive away your fear … Hess
__________

The perfect cure for fear is trust in God.

