Tags

, ,

1 Bible 2Isaiah 9:6, “His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace”

1 Peter 1:8, “Christ also suffered once for sins, the just for the unjust, that He might bring us to God”

__________

Today’s devotional is a simple but very powerful hymn regarding God’s Son, Jesus Christ.  This truth is recorded for us in the Scriptures and speaks about Christ as Savior, Incarnate, Virgin born, Carpenter, Teacher and the Image of God.  James M. Gray (1851-1935) was an American Bible scholar, school administrator, editor, preacher, and poet. Born in New York City and reared in the Episcopalian Church, as a young man he prayed, “God be manifest to me a sinner.” Known as a gracious and well-beloved Christian gentleman and scholar, Dr. Gray dedicated his entire life to communicating the Bible through speaking and writing. For 16 years he pastored the Reformed Episcopal Church in Boston.

Dr. Gray championed the cause of Christ at Moody Bible Institute for 43 years as a summer guest lecturer, dean, executive secretary, editor of Moody Monthly, president and president emeritus, succeeding D.L. Moody and R.A. Torrey. He authored 25 books and booklets and served as one of the seven editors of the first Scofield Bible. Spanning parts of two centuries, his expositions of the Word blessed nearly 20,000 students. Factual content, the synthetic study method, and life application characterized his teaching. One of Dr. Gray’s Gospel songs has preserved his life philosophy: Only a Sinner, Saved by Grace. I sincerely trust this simple but very powerful hymn will be a blessing to you.  Enjoy my beloved brethren.

I know no other Jesus than He who died for me;

The Savior of lost sinners, the Christ of Calvary.

I know no “ideal” Jesus that human minds invent;

The only Christ I worship is whom the Father sent.

That human Christ could save me is inadmissible;

My Jesus is the image of God invisible.

My Christ became incarnate and of the Virgin born;

He left a crown of glory to wear the platted thorn.

The infant of the manger, the village Carpenter.

The Teacher sent from heaven to men to minister;

The true historic Jesus, who died and rose again,

He only is the Jesus that I proclaim to men.

__________

Closing Thoughts:

A missionary was speaking to a remote tribe of people who had never heard about the life and ministry of Jesus Christ. The chief of the tribe was seated in the front row, listening intently to all the missionary had to say. As the story of Jesus Christ came to its climax and the chief heard how Christ was cruelly crucified, he could restrain himself any longer. He jumped up and cried, “Stop! Take Him down from the cross! I belong there, not Him!” He had grasped the meaning of the gospel; he understood that he was a sinner, and that Christ was the sinless One.

My beloved, as you consider that scene of the Son of God hanging on the cross in agony, with His precious blood flowing from His wounds, can you say from your heart, “I belong there!” Then go one step further and put your trust in Him as your Savior, so that you can say with the apostle Paul, “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me” (Galatians 2:20).

Jesus took our place and died in our stead. Because He bore our sins, He has opened the way for us to be brought into fellowship with the Father. If you identify yourself with Christ and believe that He died for you, God will identify you with Christ and give you His righteousness.  If you’re not a believer in Jesus Christ, accept the payment He made for you on the cross. There is no other way to be reconciled to God.

All my iniquities on him were laid-

He nailed them all to the tree;

Jesus the debt of my sin fully paid-

He paid the ransom for me. – Moore
__________

All that I am I owe to Jesus Christ, revealed to me in His Eternal Word.

