Tags

, , ,

1 Bible 2Psalm 23:4, “You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me”

Psalm 139:3, “You comprehend my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways”

__________

The Lord is my Pacesetter, I shall not rush.

He makes me to stop and rest for quiet intervals.

He provides me with images of stillness which restore my serenity.

He leads me into ways of efficiency through calmness of mind, and His guidance is Peace.

Even though I have a great many things to accomplish each day, I will not fret, for His Presence is here.

His timeless all-importance will keep me in balance.

He prepares refreshment and renewal in the midst of my activity by anointing my head with His oils of tranquility.

Surely harmony and effectiveness shall be the fruits of my hours,

And I shall walk in the Pace of my Lord and dwell in His house forever.

__________

My beloved, no place is beyond the presence, guidance, and protection of God (Psalm 139:7-10). The deepest darkness became flooded with light because God was there (Psalm 139:11-12). From the womb to the tomb, every day of David’s life was known to his Creator and so it is with our life (Psalm 139:13-16). And the number of times God thought about him could not be counted (Psalm 139:17-18). Thus, we are completely known and never alone in our relationship with God.  Oh my, what a comfort!

__________

Further thoughts:

When 8-year old Raymond visited his Grandfather in the hospital, he came with his own custom-made “Get Well” card. It was on a piece of stiff white paper (8 ½ x 11) folded in half. On the front he had written, “Hope You Feel Better Soon.” On the inside, in very large block letters, was this message: I WILL BE WITH Y0U WHEREVER YOU GO.

There wasn’t any Scripture reference, so Raymond added these words: “God said that.” That added note conveyed an unintended and deeper truth that brought a smile to my face and comfort to my heart. A hospital can be a very lonely place. It’s a world of unfamiliar faces, first-time medical procedures, and uncertain diagnoses.

However, it’s in just such a setting that God can quiet an anxious heart and give assurance that He’ll go with you down every hall, through every new door, into any unknown future … yes, even through “the valley of the shadow of death” (Psalm 23:4)

Maybe you have had an unexpected setback or loss. Your future is unknown. Trusting Jesus as your Savior and Lord, you can be sure of this: He will go with you wherever you go. You can believe it because God said it!

I trust in God – I know He cares for me,

On mountain bleak or on the stormy sea;

Though billows roll, He keeps my soul –

My heavenly Father watches over me. – Martin

__________

No danger can come so near the Christian that God is not nearer.

