Tags

, , , ,

1 Bible 2Psalm 19:12, “Who can understand his errors? Cleanse me from secret faults”

Psalm 139:23, “Search me, O God, and know my heart”
__________

The more we allow ourselves to go under the microscope of God’s Eternal Word, the more clearly the flaws in our lives are revealed. The psalmist also understood the hidden nature of his sin, so he asked to be cleansed from his “secret faults.” We don’t like to think that sin lying beneath the surface needs to be cleansed. We’re like the four-year old who didn’t like soap and water, especially when his mother used it to clean those hard-to-get places on his face. One day she tried to reason with him and said, “But you want to be clean, don’t you?” “Yes,” he whimpered, “but can’t you just dust me off?” Many housewives like to keep their homes clean and uncluttered.

I knew a woman who straightened her house every night before going to bed. She didn’t want the Lord to catch her being a messy housekeeper if He should return before morning. You could say that maintaining a well-kept house for the Lord’s glory is a worthy desire. However, the house where we live isn’t the Lord’s primary concern. He cares much more about the state of the house where He resides … your mind, heart and soul. My beloved, a once-a-week dusting by going to church and confessing our outward sin is much easier than a daily discipline of letting God’s Spirit show us from His Word what needs to be confessed? Bluntly speaking, the inner dirt still remains undisturbed in our lives and especially within our heart.
__________

Further thoughts:

Just as household clutter occupies space, saps energy, creates frustration and so it is with our spiritual clutter also. Unresolved conflicts pile up in our hearts, unconfessed sin gathers a thick layer of guilt, and unspoken prayers litter our minds. In today’s scripture the psalmist prayed, “Cleanse me from secret faults” and “Search me, O God, and know my heart.”

My beloved, this should be the desire of every believer who professes Christ Jesus as Savior. Our outward religious activity and our token acts of goodness are just a superficial “dusting” that doesn’t get at the heart of our problem. Our prayer must be that of the psalmist, “Cleanse me from secret faults, point out our wicked ways, and lead us.” So, why not open a cluttered closet of your heart to God today and let Him cleanse it once and for all.

Search me, O God, and know my heart today;
Try me, O Savior; know my thoughts, I Pray.
See if there be some wicked way in me;
Cleanse me from every sin and set me free … Orr
__________
It is the sin we cover up that eventually brings us down.

