Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

1 Bible 2James 1:17, “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows”

2 Corinthians 9:8, “And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work”

__________

A blessing, according to Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, is “the act or words of one that blesses,” or “a thing conducive to happiness or welfare.” In the Bible, there are several words that are usually translated as “blessing” or “bless.” I trust you will enjoy this devotional and become more aware of how blessed you are this very moment.  Enjoy!

Today upon a bus, I saw a lovely girl with golden hair

She seemed so happy; I envied her, and wished I were half so fair.

I watched her as she rose to leave, and saw her hobble down the aisle.

She had one leg, and word a crutch; but as she passed – a smile.

“Oh, God, forgive me when I whine. I have two legs – the world is mine.”

 

Later on, I bought some sweets; the boy that sold them had such charm.

I thought I’d stop and talk awhile, if I were late, ‘twould do no harm.

And as we talked he said, “Thank you, sir, you’ve really been so kind.

It’s nice to talk with folks like you, because you see – I’m blind.”

“Oh, God, forgive me when I whine. I have two eyes – the world is mine.”

 

Later, walking down the street, I met a boy with eyes so blue.

He stood and watched the others play; it seemed he knew now what to do.

I paused, and then I said, “Why don’t you join the others, dear?”

And then, I knew, he couldn’t hear.

“Oh, God, forgive me when I whine. I have two ears — the world is mine.”

 

Two LEGS to take me where I’d go

Two EYES to see the sunset’s glow

Two EARS to hear all I should know.

“Oh, God, forgive me when I whine. I’m blest indeed, the world is mine.”

__________

Further reflection:

The above was talking about physical blessings; however, Ephesians 1:3 speaks to us about how God has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus. At salvation, we are placed “in Christ” and granted full access to all the valuable resources God offers to us such as:

(1) Resources such as His wisdom, “Your Word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path” (Psalm 119:105).

(2) Forgiveness and grace, “In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of His grace” (Ephesians 1:7).

(3) New perspectives that bring hope and confidence even in the toughest of times (Ephesians 1:18). He also has provided us with material provision (Matthew 6:30-31), and peace (Ephesians 2:14).

__________

Closing thoughts:

In addition to the above, in Christ we also have the following riches – a love that can never be fathomed, a life that can never die, a peace that can never be understood, a rest that can never be disturbed, a joy that can never be diminished, a hope that can never be disappointed, a glory that can never be clouded, a happiness that can never be interrupted, a light that can never be extinguished, a strength that can never be overcome, a beauty that can never be marred, a purity that can never be defiled and resources that can never be exhausted that our God lavishes on us “according to the riches of His grace” (Ephesians 1:7).

__________

God always gives His best to those who leave the choice with Him.

 

