Tags

, , , , ,

cropped-rose-4.gif1 John 3:16, “By this we know love, because He laid down His life for us”
__________

In any court of law, witnesses provide vital information about a possible crime. Being a witness means telling the court the truth about what you know regarding the court case. Just as the criminal justice system relies heavily on witnesses, Jesus uses bold, faithful, and credible witnesses to spread His Word and build His church. Before Jesus ascended to His Father, he gave His disciples a final command to launch a worldwide witnessing campaign. The Holy Spirit would come upon them and give them supernatural power to be His witnesses throughout the world (Acts 1:8). Jesus called these early apostles to go into a world where people didn’t know about Him and to give a truthful account of what they had seen, heard, and experienced (Acts 4:19-20).

Since they had witnessed His perfect life, teachings, suffering, death, burial, and resurrection (Luke 24:48; Acts 1-5), they were to go out and give a truthful testimony about Him. In taking the gospel to the ends of the world, we are called to testify to the truth about Jesus and how He has changed our lives. “How shall they believe in Him of whom they have not heard?” (Romans 10:14). For those who claim Jesus as Lord and Savior of your life, I trust this hymn with such a great message will speak to you heart, mind and soul!

Have I Done My Best for Jesus

Lyrics by Ensign Edwin Young
Music by Harry E. Storrs

I wonder have I done my best for Jesus,
Who died upon the cruel tree?
To think of His great sacrifice at Calvary!
I know my Lord expects the best from me.

Refrain:

How many are the lost that I have lifted?
How many are the chained I’ve helped to free?
I wonder, have I done my best for Jesus,
When He has done so much for me?

The hours that I have wasted are so many
The hours I’ve spent for Christ so few;
Because of all my lack of love for Jesus,
I wonder if His heart is breaking too.

I wonder have I cared enough for others,
Or have I let them die alone?
I might have helped a wand’rer to the Saviour,
The seed of precious Life I might have sown.

No longer will I stay within the valley
I’ll climb to mountain heights above;
The world is dying now for want of someone
To tell them of the Saviour’s matchless love.
__________

Further reflection:

Jesus Christ paid a price for salvation that we could never pay! As a believer in Christ, do you daily reflect on what He has done for you and have you done your best for Him? Matthew 20:28 tell us, “The Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve.” Several years ago, a fire destroyed a building that contained tons of ice. Although the building had contained thousands of gallons of potential extinguisher, the water wasn’t in a usable form. The building was full of frozen assets! Unfortunately, many individuals and churches have a similar problem. In spite of being blessed with tons of resources for witness and service, God’s chosen people are often God’s “frozen people.” Jesus said that we are salt and light, but He warned against losing our saltiness and hiding our light (Matthew 5:13-20).

I submit to you that there are two safeguards to prevent this from happening (1) Salt as a seasoning is useless unless it’s in contact with food and mixed into it. Jesus calls us to “flavor” society in His name through close involvement with people; (2) Light is meant to be visible. Secret believers need to come out of hiding and be known as disciples. Their profession of faith must become self-evident through their good works. D. L. Moody said, “Lighthouses don’t fire cannons to call attention to their shining. They just shine.” We are to season society and light up our world for Christ. It’s time to thaw out the frozen assets in our lives. So, my brethren:

(1) What are you doing to tell others of Jesus?
__________

If you want others to know what Christ will do for them, tell them what He has done for you.